Poetry

Night Time

image

As I lay in bed
My mind goes on a random trip
Reflecting on my just-concluded day
“Its been a really long day” I say to myself
As thoughts of my achievements flash through my mind
I give a fleeting smile
A smile that doesn’t even live to see the next minute
‘Cos I remember the mistakes and errors that could have been corrected
Then again I remember
That I ought not to harbour any regrets whatsoever
A perfect way to avoid any more ill thoughts
Gradually, happy moments of the day creep into my thoughts
Reminding me to be thankful for my life
Creating a more long lasting smile. As I say the last words of my night time prayer to the Lord
My eyes begin to shut slowly
As I drift into a very satisfying sleep…

Leave a Reply

